Tales of a CrossFit Newbie

For a while I have been toying with the idea of trying CrossFit.  And I’ve had a lot of people both in real life and in the blogger world encouraging me with their stories, and promising me that I’d love it.  But I’ve been scared to death.  Afraid that I am not strong enough; that I wouldn’t be able to make it through a single work out (I mean, have you SEEN those people?!); that I would stick out like a sore thumb in this club of beast-like atheletes.

 

Well, after a lot of self pep talks, I finally decided to bite the bullet and give it a shot!  So I googled the “box”, checked out the schedule, hydrated, and headed to the 12 o’clock class.

Image

Me, pre-workout, with my “I’m excited but scared to death” face.

But, as luck would have it, the 12 o’clock class was cancelled.  I figured I could take this as one of two things: 1) A sign from destiny that CrossFit is just not for me.  Or 2) My first chance  to show myself that I don’t give up.

 

I chose the latter.  And returned at 4PM.

Image

Home of CrossFit Tupelo (for now, moving soon!)

 

Here was the WOD and other whatnot (sorry, don’t know enough lingo yet.) 

 

WOD – 15 min

8 minute AMRAP of:

8 Ring Dips

16 KBS 55/35#

 Scale 1: Assisted Ring Dips

Scale 2: Assisted Ring Dips, 35/20#

Scale 3: Box Dips, 20/15#

 

STRENGTH – 10 min

Back Squat: 3 x 2 (60%)
 
WARM UP – 15 min

400 forward/backward run (100m f/100m b, etc)

– Then-

1 min of each:

lunge twists

toy soldiers

burpees

v-ups

hip mob (2 min)

shoulder mob (2 min)

 

The warm-up went decent.  Well except for those burpees.  Ugh.  Not only am I not coordinated enough for those… Umm.. They are just terrible.

 

Next up, strength– back squats.  The coach spent a ton of time making sure I had proper form, which made me feel good.  He first had me just using the bar, but I asked for weight (whoop whoop), but we kept it modest.  But I thought to myself:  “What’s the big deal?  This isn’t all that bad!! I can handle CrossFit!!”

 

And then the WOD happened.  Holy smokes.  As many reps as possible in 8 minutes of 8 ring dips and 16 kettle bell swings.  And the coach (after showing me proper form and how to scale the dips) put me in the second group so I could watch.  Bad move.  I watched as these strong, buff people grunted and groaned to make it through 8 minutes.  The butterflies were on crack in my tummy.  

 

My turn came up.  And I DID IT.  Eight minutes of legs and arms quivering, sweat dripping down my nose, muscles screaming.  But I powered through, with only one 10 second break to chalk my hands (it’s all fun and games until someone loses a kettle bell.)  Of course, in the end I know I did the work, my muscles, my energy.  But, I have to be honest, the real reason I finished was due to all the support I got from the coach and the other members.

 

And I think that is what already has me hooked — the encouragement from the other people!  Yes, it sucks, but we were all in it together, pushing ourselves to our limit.  And everybody wanted everyone else to succeed.  Leave no man behind!!  Who would have thought that these hard core, beasts of physical fitness part-time as your own personal cheering squad?!

 

So yes.  I survived my first WOD (5+2, S2 if you’re curious)!  And, once I’m able to lift my arms above my head to take this sweaty shirt off, I’m definitely going back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales of a CrossFit Newbie

  1. Isn’t CrossFit something else?! I also went through similar stages: “I wanna try it.” “I’m scared.” “UGH I’m GONNA DO IT.” – Whether you stick with it or not, you can say you did it. Just please, please, please be safe!! I encountered several injuries in my month of CrossFit. Just be smart and don’t be afraid to scale back the WODS to fit your level of fitness. 😉 Good luck girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

